Pedalboard/Rig update (and what is Lent anyway?)

So… I haven’t posted on here in a while. Life is busy.

But I thought I’d share a bit on the current iteration of my board.

Guitars (Classic Vibe 50s Tele – 4 way switch, FSR Tele with Fender OV Pickups, Gibson Les Paul Classic) > Morley Volume Pedal Plus> Boss TU-2 > Paul C Timmy > GFS Greenie > Fulltone Fatboost V.3 > Danelectro Cool Cat Trem> TC Electronic Flashback X4> Empress Tape Delay> Strymon Ola> Strymon blueSKy> Amps Vox AC15C1 (Weber Blue Dog)/Vox AC30C2/Mesa Express 5:50 2×12

It seems I’ve redone my board/rig quite a bit in the last few months. I’m trying to reduce the excess in stuff and just have quality things that I enjoy creating music with.

So let’s review the new additions!

TC Electronic Flashback X4 – Just a fantastic piece of delay. The layout is familiar (having owned a DL4 and DelayLab), and super simple to operate. You just plug in and play, and despite the lack of ‘fine-tuning’ options, I really like the sounds coming out of it. I also used the TonePrint app to beam in some Echoplex TonePrints, which sound really lush and full. I particularly like Andy from PGS’s EP TonePrint. Built like a tank, switches feel sturdy, and the looper is super intuitive.

Empress Tape Delay – Super warm, warbly, and yet clear delay. So far I’m digging how I can get anything from washed out tape to dotted eighth rhythmic stuff. And so many switches!!

Strymon Ola – Technically this is a chorus pedal, but I really love the Vibrato mode. This is running after my delays to give it some ‘spread’ when I want it to.

Strymon blueSky – Hands down the best reverb I’ve ever played. From subtle to cavernous, this pedal delivers.

Mesa Express 5:50 2×12 – Switchable down to 5 watts, four modes, two channels, smaller/lighter than my AC30. A beast of amp in a medium sized package.

Now that we are right in the middle of the Lent season, a verse came to me that I wanted to share. I know not everyone observes Lent, but we do, and it can seem like a great big burden. However, I think there’s real value in taking stock of one’s life and seeing where we can be more giving of ourselves.

“For I testify that they gave as much as they were able, and even beyond their ability. Entirely on their own”

(2 Corinthians 8:3, NIV)

Here Paul is commending the generosity of some church members who had funded his missionary travels, but what I think stands out is the fact that he notes they did this entirely out of their own free will. No one is going to make you observe Lent, and if they did, what impact would that have on your life? You would be likely to grow bitter at the thought of the word.

And yet it can be a beautiful picture of worship when you say, ‘OK, Lord. I see I have __________. I could do with less or without this, and I am glad to give it up for you.’ To be honest, I haven’t even really made a Lent commitment, I just know I’ve not been taking care of my body lately, so my intention was to cut out some junk food and sweets, and to instead treat my body with reverence for God’s creation. Am I doing it 100% right? No, but that’s not the point. The point is I’ve identified an area where I need discipline, and Lent can be the perfect opportunity to offer that to God.

Blessings in this season to you all!

Leave a Reply

